Welcome to Moqhaka Local Municipality

The Moqhaka Local Municipality is situated in the southern part of the Fezile Dabi District. The area of jurisdiction includes the former Transitional Local Councils of Kroonstad, Steynsrus and Viljoenskroon, and sections of the erstwhile Transitional Rural Councils of Riemland, Kroonkop and Koepel. Moqhaka abuts the Metsimaholo Local Municipality, within the Fezile Dabi District Municipality, renowned for its national significance as a major contributor to the petro-chemicals industry internationally. Read more...

  • Mayor Profile
  • Resources
  • Media
  • Tourism

The current Executive Mayor of Moqhaka Local Municipality is Cllr Motshidisi Koloi, who took the office in 2016. The executive work of the council of Moqhaka Local Municipality is co-ordinated by the Executive Mayor, who is elected by the council to provide a strategic direction for the municipality. The Executive Mayor is assisted by a Mayoral Committee made up of 9 councillors. The Mayoral Committee is responsible for individual portfolios such as community development, housing or finance, and reports directly to the mayor, The Executive Mayor is also assisted by the Supporting staff in her office. Read more...